Official issuer of New Zealand stamps & commemorative coins
Call: 06 262 7262

1980 Definitives

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Issue information

Te Heu Heu Tukino IV - 15c
A paramount chief of the Ngati Tuwharetoa tribe, he gave the three central North Island mountain peaks of Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu to the nation in 1887, the year before he died.

Te Hau-Takiri Wharepapa - 25c
One of the chiefs who sailed to England in 1862 to meet Queen Victoria and returned with an English wife.

Princess Te Puea Herangi - 35c
Tribal leader whose heroic efforts established the Turangawaewae Marae at Ngaruawahia. Princess Te Puea died at Turangawaewae in 1952.

Sir Apirana Ngata - 45c
Maori leader, politician, statesman and scholar, he represented the Eastern Maori electorate in the House of Representatives from 1905 to 1943.

Hakopa Te Ata-o-tu - 60c
A warrior of high rank, who was captured and became a slave, being liberated later when the tribes embraced Christianity. 

Stamp Bulletin

This stamp issue first appeared in New Zealand Post Stamp Bulletin No. 24 in October 1980.

Acknowledgments: Bulletin scanned and provided by John Biddlecombe of the New Zealand Society of Great Britain. Their web site offers further information useful to those interested in the stamps and postal history of New Zealand. Link:

Technical information

Date of Issue: 26 November 1980
Designer: R M Conly, Christchurch
Printers: Heraclio Fournier, Spain
Stamp Size: 25mm x 29mm
Sheet Size: 100 stamps per sheet
Process: Photogravure
Perforation Gauge:   12.75 x 13
Paper Type: Unwatermarked
You have items in your cart