Official issuer of New Zealand stamps & commemorative coins

COVID-19 UPDATE: Online orders are open and will be fulfilled as soon as possible. Find out more here.

2020 Nga Hau e Wha - The Four Winds Gold Coin Set

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Out of stock

These premium coins are engraved and polished to highlight the stunning detail of these unique Māori designs. There are only 75 sets available worldwide.


  • Set of four coins telling the unique New Zealand story of Ngā Hau e Whā | The Four Winds
  • Minted from 0.9999 gold
  • Extremely low worldwide mintage of 75 sets
  • Highly detailed design by New Zealand artist Dave Burke.


Each of these unique coins represents one of the four prevailing winds of Aotearoa New Zealand, with detailed engraving and polishing effects. Te Hau Rāwhiti, the wind that blows from the east, represents the wind that follows the path of Tama-nui-te-rā (the sun) as it travels across the sky. Te Hau Tonga, the southerly wind, brings rain, chill and cold weather. Te Hau ā Uru, the westerly, is the prevailing wind in Aotearoa New Zealand. Te Hau Raki is the warm wind that blows from the north, from Te Hiku o Te Ika (The Tail of the Fish). Follow the tail to the end, to Te Reinga, to where two seas meet and mark the pathway of the spirits to Hawaiki, the spiritual homeland of Māori.

Denomination: Four x five New Zealand dollars
Finish: Proof
Composition: 0.9999 gold
Weight: Four x 1/4oz
Diameter: 26mm
Edge treatment: Milled
Obverse design: Portrait of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Ian Rank-Broadley, United Kingdom
Shape: Round
Reverse design: North, South, East and West, each coin representing one of the four winds, the colour and shapes used on each coin reflect the nature of the wind shown.
Designed by: Dave Burke, Tauranga, New Zealand
Worldwide mintage limit: 75
Mint: B. H. Mayer’s Kunstprägeanstalt GmbH