Official issuer of New Zealand stamps & commemorative coins

COVID-19 UPDATE: Online orders are open and will be fulfilled as soon as possible. Find out more here.

2020 Nga Hau e Wha - The Four Winds Silver Proof Coin Set

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Out of stock

This set of four silver proof coins complements the stamps in the same issue, with bright and detailed illustrations by New Zealand artist Dave Burke. Each coin represents one of the four winds through shape and colour.


  • Set of four coins telling the unique New Zealand story of Ngā Hau e Whā | The Four Winds
  • Minted from 0.999 silver
  • Limited worldwide mintage of 500 sets
  • Highly detailed design by New Zealand artist Dave Burke. 


Each of these unique coins represents one of the four prevailing winds of Aotearoa New Zealand. Colour printing is used to highlight the temperature and nature of each wind, and the rim of each coin is polished. Te Hau Rāwhiti, the wind that blows from the east, features three colours represent the rising sun. The easterly follows the path of Tama-nui-te-rā (the sun) as it travels across the sky. Te Hau Tonga, the southerly wind, brings rain, chill and cold weather. Te Hau-ā-uru, the westerly, is the prevailing wind in Aotearoa New Zealand. The rains that the westerly brings to the western coasts to create the lush, wet landscape that is represented in the colours of this coin. Te Hau Raki is the warm wind that blows from the north, from Te Hiku o Te Ika (The Tail of the Fish). Follow the tail to the end, to Te Reinga, to where two seas meet and mark the pathway of the spirits to Hawaiki, the spiritual homeland of Māori. 

Denomination: Four x one New Zealand dollars
Finish: Proof with colour printing
Composition: 0.999 silver
Weight: Four x 1/2oz
Diameter: 30mm
Edge treatment: Milled
Obverse design: Portrait of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Ian Rank-Broadley, United Kingdom
Shape: Round
Reverse design: North, South, East and West, each coin representing one of the four winds, the colour and shapes used on each coin reflect the nature of the wind shown
Designed by: Dave Burke, Tauranga, New Zealand
Worldwide mintage limit: 500
Mint: B. H. Mayer’s Kunstprägeanstalt GmbH